Personhood Mississippi

On Campus

Sorry I haven’t shown up recently. I guess it was just generally accepted that I was going to have to head this site up, so I guess I should post more often.

Things have been rolling along as smoothly as possible of late. We’re hearing of a lot of people working on this, most of whom are doing better than I am. People are donating their time and effort to this in ways that we sometimes don’t even realize, and it makes one think, “What have I been doing?” I guess there’s a danger of working on this becoming a side issue once the excitement of starting has passed. Or, if you’re like me, when it comes time to actually start doing work beyond petitioning. Even though I don’t think Personhood work has to or even should become the centre of our life, you would be amazed at how it gives you something to do when you feel as though you’re being useless.

Okay, so what have we been doing? Well, today a couple of siblings and myself headed out with a friend from church to talk to the Baptist Student Union at Northeast in Boonville. It was a good effort, and even though it was not perfect, we got some good signatures. I’m not sure how on board any of those young people are, but hopefully this will give them something to think and pray about.

As a first, I had one young man challenge me about the Personhood of the unborn. If petitioners could be graded, I would be a -5 for being nervous. I guess that’s what happens when we try to rely on our own strength. I tried to answer the guy as best I could, but I didn’t jump at the God-given opportunity like I should have. Then again, in the end the kid said, “I just picking at you. I’ll sign.”

Like, okay. That was not half so mortifying as the time we were at Ole Miss and I couldn’t get a girl I knew to sign. But seriously, more in keeping with the purposes of this site, if you do run in to reoccurring problems with people, (if it’s a one time thing, disregard it), just e-mail personhoodmississippi@gmail.com and we (meaning someone like my dad) will do our best to answer your questions.

Another highlight for me was asking a certain couple, a guy and a girl who looked like she was expecting an addition to her familiar circle sometime soon. When I explained to the guy what we were doing, and said that this amendment would say that unborn children have the same rights as the rest of us, the girl said, “Of course they do. Mine does.” I thought that was pretty cool.

(And by the way, after my second time doing it, I’ve found that working campus’s is pretty fun. Which isn’t really our goal, but try it if you can.)

No matter what work you’re doing, whether petitioning, changing the world, or just living and serving Christ in the things that we call “unimportant,” may He bless you to walk in His presence and bring glory to Him. God bless!

April 3, 2009 - Posted by | Church Involvment, Encouragement, Petitioning, Uncategorized, Where the Work Is

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.